November 20th Sermon "There Is Enough Serenity For Everyone In This Room" Rev. Ian White Maher

17 November 2022


Please join us for our Sunday Service, November 20th at 9am and 11am
Rev. Ian White Maher
Sermon: "There Is Enough Serenity For Everyone In This Room"
Services will be live-streamed on zoom (zoom link is on the front page of the website). 
Mask optional, but strongly recommended
Coffee Hour: In person in Eliot Hall following each service and virtual following the 11am service.
*Reminder that the Congregational Meeting will follow at 12:15pm in the Chapel and on zoom*
We welcome with Joy our guest musician this morning: Flautist ALESSANDRA VIVO. Thank You Alessandra for joining us and bringing your talented gift of music to today's worship service.
As well due thanks is given to the members of the First Unitarian Chancel Choir. It is through them and their devoted service that a significant aspect of our Music Ministry stays alive and well. THANK YOU Chancel Choir!
David Owens - Director of Music, Holly Stuart - Assistant to the Director
  • Choral Prelude: "Sweet Cider" from "The Harvest" 1928 words by G. Gordon Wilcox music by  Richard Kountz - Chancel Choir
  • Welcome & Announcements - Dot Verbrugge, Board of Trustees President
  • Chalice Lighting - Dot Verbrugge
  • Hymn #67 "We Sing Now Together -  David Owens, organ
  • Lay Minister: Kristen Quinn
  • Interlude: excerpt from "Flute Concerto in D major" KV 314 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, (Austrian 1756-1791), Alessandra Vivo, flute & David Owens, piano
  • "Why I Am A Steward" - Dot Verbrugge
  • Offertory/Doxology:
    • From all that dwell below the skies
    • Let hymns of faith and hope arise
    • May peace, good will on earth be sung
    • Through every land by every tongue
    • Amen
  • Choral Anthem: "How Can I Keep From Singing", melody by Robert Lowry arr by Marjorie Herman (American 1826-1899) - Chancel Choir
  • Sermon: "There is Enough Serenity For Everyone In This Room" - Rev. Ian White Maher
  • Music Response: excerpt from "Flute Sonata" BWV 1034 by Johann Sebastian Bach (German 1685-1750) - Alessandra Vivo, flute & David Owens, piano
  • Hymn #68 "Come, Ye Thankful People" - David Owens, organ
  • Closing Words: Kristen Quinn
  • Choral Postlude: "Thanksgiving Canon" trad. English Melody arr. by Anna Laura Page,  Chancel Choir & Alessandra Vivo, flute obligato